VERVE CUP

The Verve Cup is the oldest piece of sterling awarded by Chicago Yacht Club. In the spring of 1884 the "Scotch cutter" Verve was brought to Chicago by Commodore E.W. Ayer.

She had been built by G.L. Watson on the Clyde and had "won 16 races in the last year". She was a typical plank-onedge cutter of the time; 45 feet overall, 38.7 feet on the water, a 7.6 foot draft, a 3.0 foot freeboard, and 6 feet of headroom in the cabin. On July 12, 1884, in the Annual Regatta of the Chicago Yacht Club she won the "second" (smaller) class and beat all of the boats



in the first class on corrected time. Her prize was "a silver cup, value \$125". This cup was returned to the Chicago Yacht Club in 1964 by then member Rod Kahr, who had found it in an in an antique store in 1964. He bought it and then gave it to the club helping to establish our now famous Verve Regatta. The Cup was placed in service as the time prize for a two day regatta in the Offshore Fleet. The Verve Cup Regatta grew into a three day event in 1993 and in 2010 became the largest offshore course race regatta in North America.

VERVE CUP WINNERS

Year	Boat	Owner	Club	Type of Boat			
Annual	Regatta of the Chic	cago Yacht Club					
1884	Verve	E.W. Ayer	Chicago YC	45' Scotch Cutter			
Verve C	up Regatta	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·		·			
1964	Bantu	H. Richard Richheimer	Columbia YC	Block Island 40			
1965	Blitzen	William & Thomas Schoendorf	South Shore YC	Sparkman & Stephens 55' Design #221 cutter			
1966	Blitzen	William & Thomas Schoendorf	South Shore YC	Sparkman & Stephens 55' Design #221 cutter			
1967	Daivolo	Alfred E. Stern Jr.	Chicago YC	Columbia 50			
1968	No Race						
1969	Bay Bea	Patrick F. Haggerty	Sturgeon Bay YC	Sparkman & Stephens 49			
1970	Heartburn	James M. Mitchell	Chicago YC	Ericson 41			
1971	Decision	David W. Howell	Chicago YC	Sparkman & Stephens 37			
1972	Kiwedin	William Schoendorf	Milwaukee YC	Morgan 54			
1973	Dora	Lynn A. Williams	Chicago YC	Sparkman Stephens 61			
1974	Decision	David W. Howell	Chicago YC	Sparkman & Stephens 37			
1975	Siren Song	Joseph S. Wright	Chicago YC	Sparkman Stephens 58			
1976	Pied Piper	Richard E. Jennings	Chicago YC	Van De Stadt 39			
1977	Escape II	Morris Rosensweig	Chicago YC	Peterson 34			
1978	Escape II	Morris Rosensweig	Chicago YC	Peterson 34			
1979	Freedom	Don Wittenberg	Chicago YC	Hood Custom			

1980	Tortuga	Richard Wharton & Bruce Creger	Chicago YC	Wylie 34		
1981	Not Awarded					
1982	Real Crude	Richard E. Jennings	Chicago YC	Peterson 42		
1983	Pied Piper	Richard E. Jennings	Chicago YC	Peterson 42		
1984	Invictus	John Malec	Chicago YC	Grahm & Schlageter 45		
1985	Pied Piper	Richard E. Jennings	Chicago YC	Peterson 42		
1986	Insatiable	Fred Krehbiel	Chicago YC	Nelson Marek 45		
1987	Carrera	Dr. Merwin Rosen	Chicago YC	Nelson Merek 41		
1988	The Source	Deane H. Tank	Chicago YC	Baltic 42		
1989	The Source	Deane H. Tank	Chicago YC	Baltic 42		
1990	Heartbeat	Dr. Hector J.M. Marchand	Michigan City YC	Wylie 45		
1991	Heartbeat	Dr. Hector J.M. Marchand	Michigan City YC	Wylie 45		
1992	Insatiable	Fred Krehbiel	Chicago YC	Nelson Marek 50		
1993	Flash Gordon	Helmut Jahn	Chicago YC	Farr 39		
1994-1996	6 No Overall Winner					
1997	Eagle	Jerome F. & Shawn O'Neill	Chicago YC	Tripp 36		
1998	Eagle	Jerome F. & Shawn O'Neill	Chicago YC	Tripp 36		
1999	Erica	Michael Kaczor & John Knopke	Jackson Park YC	Rod 32		
2000	LaTempete	Tom & Deb Weber	Burnham Park YC	Beneteau 40.7		
2001	Fin Esse	Alan McMillan	Chicago YC	Sirena 38		
2002	Windquest	Doug DeVos	Macatawa Bay YC	1D35		
2003	Glider	Rich Sterns	Chicago YC	Tartan 10		
2004	Bounder	David Hudgel	Bayview YC	Sydney 36		
2005	Kiwi	William Zeiler	Chicago YC	J109		
2006	Skye	Marilyn & Tom Edman & Jane & Jeff Hoswell	Midwest Open Racing Fleet	Farr 395		
2007	Aftershock	Bill Newman	Muskegon YC	J35		
2008	Collaboration II	Robert Vickery	Chicago Corinthian YC	Beneteau 40.7		
2009	Convexity	Don Wilson	Chicago YC	J105		
2010	Sealark	Clark Pellet	Chicago YC	J105		
2011	Winnebago	Tim Rathbun	Columbia YC	Tartan 10		
2012	Evolution	Pete Reichelsdorfer & Terry Kohler	Sheboygan YC	GL70		
2013	Honey Badger	Thomas Kate	Chicago Corinthian YC	Tartan 10		
2014	Convergence	Don Wilson	Chicago YC	Tartan 10		
2015	Winnebago	Tim Rathbun	Columbia YC	Tartan 10		
2016	Perseverance	Bennet Greenwald	San Diego YC	כווו		
2017	Kashmir	Karl Brummel, Steve Henderson & Mike Mayer	Chicago YC	כווו		
2018	Program	Earle & Kara Atwater		Beneteau 36.7		
2019	Spaceman Spiff	Rob Ruhlman	Lakeside YC	J111		
2020	Erica	Brian Kazor	Chicago Corinthian	Tartan10		