THOMAS H. WEBB TROPHY

The Webb Trophy was originally a Columbia Yacht Club trophy for yachts designed to and raced under the Seawanhaka Rule.

The inscription on the cup states: "Cabin yachts 18 to 30 Feet LWL" and the regatta was traditionally sailed on the 4th of July. From 1901 to 1915 it was won by such yachts as La Rita, Illinois, Spray, and Invader. As was the case in the early days of racing for prizes, a yacht which won the trophy a number of times won the trophy permanently. Such was the case of Leonard J. Lambin with Invader.

In 1954 Mr. Lambin presented the trophy to the Chicago Yacht Club for use as a permanent trophy in a long distance race. It was awarded for various long distance races run by CYC traditionally over the 4th of July weekend sailed variously to Mackatawa Bay, Milwaukee, Racine, and St. Joseph. After being not-sailed for a number of years, the Webb Trophy has been a Mac section trophy since 2004.



PAST WINNERS

Not sailed

1961

Year	Boat	Owner	Club	Type of Yacht	Elapsed Time	Division/ Race	Section				
Ггорһу	for Yachts Race	 d Under Seawanhaka Rule (C	⊔ olumbia Yacht Cluk))							
1901	Nymph	Dr. Frank W. Holmes	Columbia YC	38' Schooner							
902	La Rita	George R. Peare	Columbia YC	Lawrence Jensen 21'							
903	Sprite	Dr. Charles Philip Pinckard	Chicago YC	Cuthbert 21' Cabin Yacht							
904	Illinois	Charles P. Roberts	Columbia YC	32' Sloop							
905	Illinois	Charles P. Roberts	Columbia YC	32' Sloop							
906	Mendota	Edward P. Vilas	Milwaukee YC	21' Cabin Yacht							
907	Illinois	Edward M. Mills & L.L. Summers	Chicago YC	35' Sloop							
908	Spray	Fred A. Price	Columbia YC	21' Cabin Yacht							
909	Invader	Otto C. Schoenwerk, Jr.	Columbia YC	Crowinshield 35' Sloop							
910	Invader	Otto C. Schoenwerk, Jr.	Columbia YC	Crowinshield 35' Sloop							
911	Bug	Kenneth Lockett	Columbia YC	21' Cabin Yacht							
912	Invader	Otto C. Schoenwerk, Jr. & Leonard J. Lam	Columbia YC	Crowinshield 35' Sloop							
913	Disputed deci	Disputed decision - No race									
914	Invader	Leonard J. Lambin	Columbia YC	Crowinshield 35' Sloop							
915	Invader	Leonard J. Lambin	Columbia YC	Crowinshield 35' Sloop							
916-194	O Trophy retired	d and owned by Leonard Lam	bin								
Race to	Mackinac Secti	on Trophy									
960	Comanche	Carter Sales, Jr. & Jack Price	Grosse Pointe YC	40' Yawl	61:37:44	Division 2	C-2				

Trophy	for distance Race	e Over 4th of July Weekend					
962	Rangoon	David B. Silberman & Albert E. Stern	Columbia YC	37' Sloop		Macatawa Bay to Belmont	
963	Vanadis	Payson R. Mayhew	Chicago YC	35' Sloop		Milwaukee to Belmont	
964	X-Barb	Dr. David Axelrod	Jackson Park YC	Owen Cutter		St Joe to Belmont	
965	Esbro VI	Henry, Roy & Clarence Spanjer	Chicago YC	Alden 61' Yawl		Milwaukee to Belmont	
966	Wildwind	Charles S. Berk	Burnham Park YC	Alberg 35		Macatawa Bay to Belmont	
967	Viva	Willis E. Adams	Chicago YC	E Class Sloop		Racine to Belmont	
968	Charisma	Jesse Phillips & C. Berg	Columbia YC	Islander 55		Macatawa Bay to Belmont	
969	Mahi mahi	Leonard L. Westdale	Macatawa Bay YC	Vanguard 33		Milwaukee t	o Belmont
970	Gung Ho	Joseph Oran	Michigan City YC	OFS36		Macatawa Bay to Belmont	
971	Esbro VI	Henry, Roy and Clarence Spanjer	Chicago YC	Alden 61' Yawl		Milwaukee to Belmont	
972	El Kef	Gerald Gavin	Chicago YC	C&C 27		Macatawa Bay to Belmont	
973	Dora IV	Lynn A. Williams, Jr.	Chicago YC	Sparkman Stephens 61		Milwaukee to Belmont	
974	Questor	Questor Syndicate	Columbia YC	Yankee 38		Macatawa Bay to Belmont	
975	Siren Song	Joseph S. Wright	Chicago YC	Sparkman Stephens 58		Milwaukee to Belmont	
976	Sarama	Edward H. Schultz	Chicago YC	Sparkman Stephens 58		Macatawa Bay to Belmont	
977	Rebel	Sumner Sollitt	Chicago YC	Tartan 41M			
978	Cayenne	John Bergan	Chicago YC	C&C 34			
979	Not Sailed						
980	Night Train	Blair B. Vedder	Chicago YC	C&C 43			
981-20	03 Not Sailed					·	
Race to	Mackinac Sectio	n Trophy					
2004	Perserverance	Matthew Songer	Marquette YC	J120	50:46:37	Cup	J120
2005	Lionheart	Steve Roake	Fort Meyers Sailing Club	Tartan 4100	47:29:28	Cup	6
2006	Smokum Too	Peter Mather	Thornbury YC	Beneteau 42s7 Lwshoal	49:19:54	Trophy	6
2007	Certainly	Donald Meyer	Columbia YC	J109	64:14:41	Cup	7
2008	Scout	Dorsey Ruley	Chicago YC	Sydney 41	50:29:59	Cup	2
2009	Whisper	Tom Barnes & Janet Holden	Columbia YC	Express 34	71:39:35	Cup	8
2010	Journey	Kurt Anderson & David Pasquith	Chicago YC	S2 11.0A	70:01:13	Cruising	2
2011	Not sailed						
2012	Imedi	Mark Hauf	Chicago YC	TP 52	37:42:11	Cup	Turbo
2013	Infinite Diversion	Joseph S Haas	Chicago YC	Hanse 630e	45:38:57	Cruising	1
2014	SeaCan	Andraz Mihelin		Seascape 27	48:50:38	Double- Handed	Double-Handed
2015	Liberty	C. David Phelps	Grand Traverse YC	Dehler 39	48:03:53	Trophy	5
2016	Meat	B Kennalley, E Muli & C Roehl	Chicago Corinthian YC	Tartan 10	43:22:09	Trophy	T10
2017	Veni Vidi Veatchi	Jason Veatch	Chicago YC	Beneteau 36.7	62:08:41	Cup	Beneteau 36.7
2018	Fast Tango	Tim Prophit	Bayview YC	N American 40	59:48:28	Trophy	9
2019	Sufficient Reason	Mitchell Padnos	Macatawa Bay YC	Swan 42	44:56:33	Trophy	3
2021	Not Sailed						
2022	Rambler	Benjamin Wilson	Chicago YC	J99	1:15:29:32	Cup	7
2023	Final Final	Jon Desmond	NYC, BYC, CYC	Mills 41	1:15:04:19	Cu[2