SCHOONER TROPHY

Added by the club as a special Mac trophy in 1949, it was awarded to the schooner with the fastest corrected time in the Cruising Division.

It was won by Happy Holiday five of the first ten years it was offered. Happy Holiday had the fastest elapsed time in 1952 among all early winners at 51 hours 31 minutes and another "winning" time in 1955 of 106 hours 36 minutes when the trophy was also an award for patience. The age of schooners in the Mac came to an end, and the trophy was no longer awarded as there were no eligible entrants. In 1986 it was brought back into use as a section trophy.



PAST WINNERS

Year	Boat	Owner	Club	Type of Yacht	Elapsed Time	Division	Section
Race to	o Mackinac Specia	I Schooner Trophy to Schoo	oner with best co	rrected time in Cruis	ing division		
1949	Volante	Harold H. Smith	Muskegon YC	Schooner	59:08:08	Cruising	Α
1950	Benbow	G.A. Bass	Grosse Pointe YC	Schooner	56:34:21	Cruising	A
951	Horizon	Douglas Woodworth	Chicago YC	58' Schooner	63:08:19	Cruising	А
952	Happy Holiday	Frank & Roman Brykowski	Columbia YC	Schooner	51:31:24	Division 1	В
953	Happy Holiday	Frank & Roman Brykowski	Columbia YC	Schooner	66:51:17	Division 1	Α
954	Eastward	David B. Hatcher	Chicago YC	45' Schooner	93:08:33	Division 1	В
955	Happy Holiday	Frank & Roman Brykowski	Columbia YC	Schooner	106:36:45	Division 1	В
956	Alisan	S. Alexander Bell	Columbia YC	Schooner	69:56:58	Division 2	С
957	Happy Holiday	Frank & Roman Brykowski	Columbia YC	Schooner	54:18:15	Division 1	В
1958	Happy Holiday	Frank & Roman Brykowski	Columbia YC	Schooner	88:42:08	Division 1	В
959	No Finisher						
1960	Mistress	George K. Simonsen	South Shore YC	Schooner	80:15:00	Division 1	В
961	Mistress	George K. Simonsen	South Shore YC	Schooner	85:01:43	Division 1	В
1962-19	85 Not Sailed						
Race to	o Mackinac Sectio	n Trophy					
1986	Altair	Randall Syme	Waukegan YC	Ericson 39	48:16:50	IMS	6
1987	Top Gun	Oliver D. Grin	Little Traverse YC	Frers 33	35:31:02	IMS	6
1988	Cruachan	Don Campbell & Robert Donnely	Chicago YC	New York 36	55:40:48	IMS	6
1989	Good News!!	John Smiskol & Bernard Rekus	Burnham Park YC	New York 36	80:59:13	IMS	6
1990	Zoo II	Ron Sisson	Macatawa Bay YC	Grahm & Schlageter 30	41:37:25	IMS	6
991-19	94 Not Sailed						
1995	Wizo	Willard J. Harman	Michigan City YC	Ericson 39	37:54:43	IMS	Е
1996	Wizo	Willard J. Harman	Michigan City YC	Ericson 39	46:19:13	IMS	Е
1997	Wizo	Willard J. Harman	Michigan City YC	Ericson 39	44:10:04	IMS	Е
1998-19	99 Not Sailed						
2000	Cheap Thrill	Nancy & Tim Snyder	Chicago YC	Tartan 10	65:48:50	One Design	T10

2001	Windemon	Christopher Goff & Dave Clasen	Great Salt Lake YC	Tartan 10	62:39:10	One Design	T10
2002	Us	Rick Strilky	Chicago Corinthian YC	Tartan 10	40:57:23	Trophy	T10
2003	Cheap Thrill	Nancy & Tim Snyder	Chicago YC	Tartan 10	53:24:26	Cup	T10
2004	Providence	Jerry & Greg Miarecki	Chicago YC	Ericson 35 MKII	75:07:14	Trophy	8
2005	Zoom	George Miz & Michael Newman	Chicago YC	Farr 395	44:05:35	Trophy	Farr 395
2006	Realt Na Mara	Joe Londrigan	Island Bay YC	J109	51:12:17	Cup	J109
2007	Perserverance	Mathew Songer	Marquette YC	J120	55:36:30	Trophy	J120
2008	Spanker	Dennis & James McDonnell	Columbia YC	Beneteau 40.7	54:42:02	Cup	Beneteau 40.7
2009	Intangible	Tom Falck	Chicago YC	Tartan 3700	67:32:03	Cruising	2
2010	HighLander	Jim & Gerri Sorbie	Grand Traverse YC	Beneteau First 38	56:12:55	Trophy	8
2011	Flash Gordon 5	Helmut Jahn	Chicago YC	Far 40 1D MH	35:35:30	Trophy	2
2012	As You Wish	John Heaton	Chicago YC	Beneteau 36.7	44:32:56	Trophy	Beneteau 36.7
2013	Fast Tango	Tim Prophit	Bayview YC	North American 40	68:41:05	Cup	7
2014	Cheap Thrill	Nancy & Tim Snyder	Chicago YC	Tartan 10	53:32:42	Trophy	T10
2015	Rambler	Benjamin M. Wilson	Chicago YC	J88	48:45:29	Cup	6
2016	Buzz	Mark Gurney	Muskegon YC	J105	41:34:49	Trophy	J109
2017	Siochail	Brian Geraghty	Bayview YC	C&C 35 MK 1	66:02:50	Cup	9
2018	Bravo	Tom & Shirley Dekker	Port Washington YC	Taylor 40	59:56:16	Trophy	6
2019	Roxy	Don Condit	Macatawa Bay YC	Tartan 4000	57:43:25	Cruising	1
2021	nosurprise	Scott Sellers	Little Traverse YC	וווכ	53:08:48	Cup	וווכ
2022	Exile	Andy Graff & Scott Eisenhart	Chicago Corinthian YC	J88	1:13:42:09	Doublehanded	
2023	Baby Blue	Peter Heppel & Evan Walker	Chicago YC	Biker Ropdtide 30	1:22:52:32	Cup	6