RED HORSE TROPHY

The Red Horse Trophy was a gift from Knud Reimers, noted Swedish sailor, as a gift to the Chicago Yacht Club 22 Square Meter Fleet from the 22 Square Meter Fleet of Sweden.

The red horse is a traditional Swedish Christmas symbol of cheer and good will. From inception in 1953 though 1963 is was awarded to the winner of a series open only to those who had not placed in the first three in any prior race that year. In 1964 the series was opened to the entire fleet.



RED HORSE TROPHY WINNERS

22 Square Meter Fleet Event Trophy		
Year	Boat	Owner
1953	Icicle	Gilbert Finch & James Robert Gibson
1954	Rush	Peter F. Bollenbach & Ralph O. Campbell
1955	Cherie	James M. Hoddle
1956	Cherie	James M. Hoddle
1957	Cherie	John M. Bigelow
1958	Trident	John V. Farwell IV & William B. Miller, Jr.
1959	Javelin	Don H. Jirka
1960	Diane	Donald Hagenow & Ralph Fendrich
1961	Brita	Roger Fresjd & William O'Brien
1962	Naia	Charles A. McCarthy
1963	Diane	David J. Evans
1964	Vinst 2	Edmund Sheehan
1965	Krista	Ernest Garling
1966	Krista	Ernest Garling
1967	Ondine	Russell J. Clayton
1968	Valkyrie	Dr. John J. Bergan
1970	Kona	Ralph J. Fendrick