PETE PAGANIS SPORTSMANSHIP TROPHY

Donated in 1995 by Past Commodore Bill Parks to the club as a sportsmanship award for the North American Challenge Cup, this trophy is a painting of Star Class boats on the race course done by Pete Paganis.

This trophy will be awarded to the regatta participant who best exemplifies the ideals of good sportsmanship both on and off the water during the regatta, as chosen by the popular vote of all regatta competitors.



The story behind the painting: Pete, racing sailor, was a quadriplegic painter due to a tragic automobile accident. As a painter in his restrained condition, the lead in the brush handle paint nearly did him in and forced him to change to a head mounted brush holder. Prior to his accident, Pete was a racing sailor, known for his consistently high level of sportsmanship when faced with altercations on the race course. Known not only as an active dinghy racer, Peter was also skilled offshore crew on Fleetwood, a frequent Mac winner in its day.

PETE PAGANIS SPORTSMANSHIP TROPHY WINNERS

Year	Name
1995	Donna Demarest & Mitch Tepper
1996	Craig Wilson & Matt Mallory
1997	John Yount & Kerry Gruson
1998	Alan Fiske & Alan Febesh
1999	Karen Mitchell & Kerry Gruson
2000	Debbie Donald
2001	David Williams & Brian MacDonald
2002	Roger Cleworth
2003	Leo Buratti
2004	Kimberly Burkenfeld
2005	Plate missing
2006	Anthony Acosta
2007	Scott Whitman
2008	Neil Mechlin
2009	Kristi Walker
2010	Julia Dorsett
2011	Hunimano Coelho
2012	Sarah Everhart Skeels
2013	Tracy Schmitt
2014	Steve Hammer
2015	Bonnie Everhart
2016	James Kerr
Not sailed 2017-	