MARTIN D. RIECK TROPHY

First to Finish, Multihull

Given in 1998 by Harken to honor fellow colleague and renowned multihull racer Martin D Rieck, the trophy is awarded to the first multihull yacht to cross the finish line at Mackinac Island. From 2015-2017, first to finish award were for the combined monohull/multihull fleets, but beginning in 2018, this trophy was returned to its original purpose.

Although first awarded in 1999, the list of winners includes information on Steve Fossett's remarkable record run with Stars and Stripes in 1998. It stands as the fastest time to the Island by any boat and is more than 4 hours faster than the monohull record set by Roy Disney's Pyewacket.



PAST WINNERS

Year	Boat	Owner	Club	Type of Yacht	Elapsed Time	Division
1998	Stars & Stripes	Steve Fossett	San Diego YC	Morrelli & Melvin 60	18:50:32	Multihull
1999	Stars & Stripes	Steve Fossett	San Diego YC	Morrelli & Melvin 60	31:53:00	Multihull
2000	Adagio	Meade Gougeon	Bay City YC	Gougeon 35	49:29:44	Multihull
2001	Nice Pair	Bruce Geffen	Isle of Man YC	Crowther 38	41:12:22	Multihull
2002	Adagio	Meade Gougeon	Bay City YC	Gougeon 35	30:05:39	Multihull
2003	Caliente	Michael Steck	Midwest Open Racing Fleet	Chris White 44	41:38:42	Multihull
2004	Earth Voyager	Ryan & Todd Howe	Genesee YC	Formula 60	34:21:41	Multihull
2005	Rocketeer III	Ken Winters & Randy Smyth	Fort Walton Beach YC	Corsair 31 1D	38:51:17	Multihull
2006	Adagio	Meade Gougeon	Bay City YC	Gougeon 35	42:15:48	Multihull
2007	Cheekee Monkee	Ron White	Chicago YC	F-31 Modified	47:22:39	Multihull
2008	Earth Voyager	Ray, Ryan & Todd Howe	Genesee YC	Formula 60	37:47:15	Multihull
2009	Lucretia	Fred Ball	Leland YC	Newick 50	56:29:38	Multihull
2010	Manitou	Fred Ball	Leland YC	Newick 50	43:47:49	Multihull
2011	Sundog	Paul & Kathleen Parks	Annapolis YC	Seacart 30	30:04:55	Multihull
2012	Cheekee Monkee	Ron White	Chicago YC	F-31 Modified	38:25:31	Multihull
2013	Lucky Strike	Fred Ball	Leland YC	Newick 50	44:33:53	Multihull
2014	Lucky Strike	Fred Ball	Little Traverse YC	Newick 50	37:35:13	Multihull
2015	Caliente	Michael Steck	Chicago YC	Cris White 44	41:30:58	Multihull
2016	Panic Button	Ryan & Todd Howe	Rochester YC	Farrier F-25C	30:49:08	Multihull
2017	Arete'	Frederick M Warner IV	Port Huron YC	ORMA 60	24:02:43	Multihull
2019	Earth Voyager	Ryan & Todd Howe	Rochester YC	Formula 60	38:26:03	Multihull
2021	Caliente	Michael Steck	Chicago YC	Cris White 44	52:55:42	Multihull
2022 - 2023 Not Awarded						