JACK RITCHE MEMORIAL TROPHY



This silver model of the U.S.C.G. cutter Mackinaw was presented to the club in 1955 by Roy H. Olson as a permanent trophy for the Mackinac Race.

It has been used for best overall corrected time, as a division award, but mostly as a section award. Robert J. "Jack" Ritchie, Jr. was active as a sailor and member of the Race Committee from 1926 until his death in 1954. Jack served many years as chief observer for the Race Committee on the Mackinaw during races. He was known to have raced Eagle, R and L-16 class yachts. He was one of the few who sailed the Mackinac Race in an R class yacht, aboard Tomboy in 1927. A framed photograph of this trophy was presented in 2006 to the museum on the now retired Mackinaw in Mackinac City, Michigan.

JACK RITCHIE MEMORIAL TROPHY WINNERS

V	Boat	Owner	Club	Type of Yacht	Elapsed Time	Division	Section
Year							
Race to	Mackinac Best	t Corrected Time in Flee	t				-1
1954	Taltohna	Edgar B. Tolman, Jr.	Chicago YC	45' Cutter	68:50:12	Fleet	
1955	Revelry	Norman Sarns	Bayview YC	Sparkman & Stephens 44'	77:52:15	Fleet	
1956	Fleetwood	Nicholas J. Geib	Chicago YC	Custom 39' Ketch	51:13:17	Fleet	
1957	Meteor III	Henry Burkhard	Bayview YC	38' Cutter	50:37:11	Fleet	
1958	Dyna	Clayton Ewing	Chicago YC	Sparkman & Stephens 58' Design #1177 yawl	64:45:05	Fleet	
1959	Feather II	William G. Peacock, Jr.	Columbia YC	32' Yawl	63:48:03	Fleet	
1960	Freebooter	Mac & Robert Pohn	Columbia YC	Burgess Rigg & Morgan 58' Ten Meter cutter	48:19:09	Fleet	
1961	Blue Horizon	Dick Kaup	Chicago YC	Rhodes 34' Cutter	61:05:38	Fleet	
1962	Flame	James E. Doane	Chicago YC	Kettenberg 40	63:47:51	Fleet	
1963	Blitzen	William & Thomas Schoendorf	South Shore YC	Sparkman & Stephens 55' Design #221 cutter	42:22:22	Fleet	
1964	Talisman	George A. Quandee	Jackson Park YC	Tripp 30	67:33:08	Fleet	
1965	Blitzen	William & Thomas Schoendorf	South Shore YC	Sparkman & Stephens 55' Design #221 cutter	60:49:50	Fleet	
1966	Blitzen	William & Thomas Schoendorf	South Shore and Chicago YC	Sparkman & Stephens 55' Design #221 cutter	57:52:36	Fleet	
1967	Diavalo	Alfred E. Stern	Chicago YC	Columbia 50	45:47:34	Fleet	
1968	Comanche	William & Thomas Schoendorf	South Shore YC	Chris-Craft 42	40:21:27	Fleet	
1969	Bay Bea	Patrick F. Haggerty	Sturgeon Bay YC	Sparkman & Stephens 49	61:43:50	Fleet	
1970	Dora	Lynn A. Williams, Jr.	Columbia YC	Palmer Johnson 55	36:58:23	Fleet	
Race to	Mackinac Divi	sion Trophy				_	_
1971	Goblin	Lindy D. Thomas	Sheridan Shores YC	Yankee 30	58:30:16	Division IV	
1972	Contagious	Dr. James Norman	North Cape YC	Block Island 36	47:00:59	Division III	
1973	Vitesse	Milton F. Knight	Bayview YC	Scampi	70:25:30	Division IV	

1974	Dora IV	Lynn A. Williams, Jr.	Chicago YC	Sparkman Stephens 61	41:38:40	Division I	
1975	Eagle	Jerome F. O'Neill	Chicago YC	Plas Trend 30M	74:15:04	Division IV	
1976	Dandelion	Roger H. Wadsworth	North Cape YC	Morgan 37	55:18:49	Division III	
1977	Vigilant	Bruce & Scott	Jackson Park YC	Ericson 35	56:17:44	LMYA	
	Vigilarie	Hillstrom		2110301100	33.17.11		
1978	Ricochet	Henry Burkhard	Bayview YC	Peterson 40	51:17:13	IOR	
1979	Boomerang	Charles, Joe & John Tompkins	Bayview YC	Mull 31	51:10:42	IOR	
1980	Condor	Hill Blackett, Jr.	Chicago YC	C&C 41	63:51:23	MHS	
1981	Caper	Alan Johnston	Chicago YC	Peterson 33	65:14:16	MHS	
1982	Whiplash	Allen Peat	Macatawa Bay YC	Peterson 43	51:45:54	MHS	
1983-199	90 Not Sailed						
Race to	Mackinac Sect	ion Trophy					T
1991	Heartbreaker	Robert L. Hughes	Muskegon YC	J35	49:24:08	IOR	С
1992	Devastator	Paul T. Akers	Chicago YC	Morgan 45	44:39:53	LMPHRF	2
1993	Windigo	J. Sassano & R. Tittle	Michigan City YC	Santa Cruz 50	34:56:01	LMPHRF	2
1994	Elusion	John C. Ginn	Little Traverse YC	J35	44:52:23	LMPHRF Div I	4
1995	Telegraph Road	Miles Allen	Chicago YC	J35	58:42:38	PHRF	4
1996	Heartbreaker	Robert L. Hughes	Macatawa Bay YC	J35	45:08:36	PHRF	4
1997	Heartbreaker	Robert L. Hughes	Macatawa Bay YC	J35	41:44:23	PHRF	4
1998	Diversion	Charles Miller	Lake Shore Sail Club	C&C 37	45:25:06	PHRF	4
1999	Impulse	Arthur Segil	Chicago YC	Swan 39	61:44:23	PHRF	4
2000	Spitfire	Jim Hellquist	Waukegan YC	Frers 40	62:08:05	PHRF	4
2001	Dr. Detroit	Peter Karl	Burnham Park YC	Beneteau 40	48:45:30	PHRF	4
2002	Broderi	Brooke & Robert Kolar		Frers 41	37:50:40	Cup	4
2003	Eagle	Jerome F. & Shawn O'Neill	Chicago YC	Sydney 38	45:42:06	Trophy	4
2004	Goblin	Lindy D. Thomas	Chicago YC	Custom Tripp 47	52:33:21	Cup	2
2005	Cheap Thrill	Nancy & Tim Snyder	Chicago YC	Tartan 10	49:35:47	Cup	T10
2006	Stripes	Bill Martin	Bayview YC	Santa Cruz 70	40:35:04	Cup	Turbo
2007	Providence	Jerry & Greg Miarecki	Chicago YC	Ericson 35 MKII	75:05:14	Cup	9
2008	Skye	Bill Zeiler	Chicago YC	J122	52:00:30	Cup	3
2009	Мојо	Gary Powell, Jeff Comeaux & Scott Ruhlander	Chicago YC	Beneteau 40.7	66:51:40	Trophy	Beneteau 40.7
2010	Karma	Lou Sandoval, Martin Sandoval & Jack Buoscio	Chicago YC	Beneteau 36.7	53:56:20	Trophy	Beneteau 36.7
2011 Tie	Usual Suspect	Bryan Sims	Bronte Harbour YC	C&C 43	44:40:20	Cup	6
	Bozos Circus	Bruce Metcalf	Chicago YC	J35	46:42:05	Cup	6
	Aftershock	William M. Newman	Muskegon YC	J35	47:57:25	Cup	6
2012	Smokum Too	Pete Mather	Thornbury YC	Beneteau 42s7LW	44:55:36	Trophy	7
2013	Erica	Brian & Michael Kaczor		Tartan 10	73:29:16	Cup	T10
2014	Here's Johnny!	John Moore	Midwest Open Racing Fleet	J105	48:49:24	Trophy	J105
2015	Odyssey	David Bohl	Milwaukee YC	Tartan 34C	54:20:48	Cup	8
Jack Rit	tchie Memorial	Trophy					
Year	Boat	Owner	Club	Type of Yacht	Elapsed Time	Division	Section
2016	Flying Buffalo	Al & Bob Declercq	Bayview YC	Offshore 36	46:52:08	Trophy	10
2017	Trois Vignes	John Palmer	Macatawa Bay YC	Jeanneau 64 DS	40:45:59	Cruising	Cruising 1
2018	Challenge	Kevin & Ray Teborek	Chicago YC	S&S 50	55:04:48	Trophy	8
2019	Perico	Ryan Johnson	Columbia YC	Sabre 402	57:57:02	Cruising	Cruising 1
2021	Liquid	Jim Caesar	Chicago Corinthiam	J109	57:52:46	Trophy	J109
	Lounge II		YC				