HAMILTON CLUB TROPHY

This trophy was given in 1926 by the Hamilton Club of Chicago to the Chicago Yacht Club for Chicago Yacht Club's Triangular Race sailed over Labor Day each year.

it was restricted to yawl, schooners and ketches in the cruising division. During these years the entire race was under the jurisdiction of Chicago Yacht Club. In 1926 the race was from Belmont to St. Joseph, St. Joseph to Michigan City, and Michigan City to Belmont via Jackson Park. In 1927 it was run Van Buren Street, St. Joseph to Michigan City



to Jackson Park. From 1928 through 1933 it was run in two legs only, Chicago to Black Lake and return. From 1935 through 1939 it was sailed in three legs and was opened to all cruising yachts. Jackson Park YC sponsored the first leg between Jackson Park and Michigan City, Chicago Yacht Club the second leg between Michigan City and St. Joseph, and Columbia YC the final leg between St. Joseph and Van Buren Street. In 1940 the order of the race legs was reversed. After a gradual decline in participation for the Tri-State regatta, the trophy was awarded one last time for the Bi-State (Chicago-St Joseph-Chicago) in 2012. From 2013 through 2017, the trophy was awarded for a Cruising Fleet distance race. Starting in 2018, it is awarded to the top Chicago Yacht Club boat finisher in the Goldstar Regatta. The Hamilton Club was a social club of Republican affiliation formed in 1890, located in its later years in the Loop with membership peaking at 3800, and was dissolved in 1937. The Hamilton Club Trophy is in the form of a silver plated Nef. A Nef is a term used to refer to a vessel shaped like a ship, used in the later Middle Ages for the lord's napkin, knife and spoon. By the 16th Century they were used as table ornaments and status symbols, especially in Germany and Switzerland.

HAMILTON CLUB TROPHY WINNERS

Club	Type of Boat				
ion					
Chicago YC Jackson Park YC	Yawl Schooner				
Jackson Park YC	Schooner				
Jackson Park YC	55' Schooner				
Chicago YC	55' Schooner				
Chicago YC	Schooner				
Chicago YC	65' Schooner Yawl				
	TGVVI				
1934 Not Sailed Tri-State Overall Trophy (Chicago-Michigan City-St. Joseph)					
Chicago YC	51' Schooner				
Columbia YC Columbia YC	Alden 44 36' Cutter				
Jackson Park YC	55' Cruising Yawl				
Columbia YC	36' Cutter				
Jackson Park YC	36' Cutter				
Tri-State Ovetrall Trophy (Chicago-St. Joseph-Michigan City) 1940 Tahuna Henry B. Babson & Joseph E. Moller Chicago YC 48' Yawl					
Chicago YC	48' Yawl				
Jackson Park YC Sheridan Shore YC	55' Cruising Yawl 44' Yawl				
Chicago YC	60' Cutter				
Chicago YC	45' New York YC Class Cutter				
Chicago YC	35' Cutter				
Chicago YC	35' Cutter				
Chicago YC	32' Cutter				
Chicago YC Chicago YC	62' Yawl 60' Yawl				
Chicago YC Chicago YC	Custom 39' Ketch				
Chicago YC	Custom 39' Ketch				
Chicago YC	58' Cutter				
Chicago YC	50' Cutter				
Chicago YC	Custom 39' Ketch				
South Shore YC Chicago YC	Yawl Custom 39' Ketch				
Sheboygan YC	L F Hereschoff 87' M Class ketch				
, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,					
Chicago YC	55' Yawl				
Macatawa Bay YC	Sparkman & Stephens 55				
Muskegon YC Columbia YC	NDF 42 Sloop 34' Melody Yawl				
Chicago YC	44' Yawl				
Columbia YC	34' Melody Yawl				
Columbia YC	Block Island 40				
Columbia YC	Block Island 40				
Chicago YC	Alden 61' Yawl				
Chicago YC Chicago YC	Cuthbertson 52 Cuthbertson 52				
Chicago YC	Cuthbertson 52				
Chicago YC	Cuthbertson 52				
Columbia YC	Sparkman & Stephens 55				
Columbia YC	Palmer Johnson 43				
Chicago YC Chicago Corinthian YC	Van De Stadt 39 Norlin 34				
Chicago YC	Van De Stadt 39				
ck Heinz Chicago YC	Wylie 1/2 Ton				
Michigan City YC	Wylie 1/2 Ton				
Chicago YC	Peterson 34				
South Shore YC Burnham Park YC	Tartan 10 Hawk 28				
Chicago YC	Wylie 34				
Columbia YC	Peterson 42				
Chicago YC	Peterson 42				
Chicago YC	Wylie 28				
Chicago YC	Nelson Merek 41				
Chicago YC Chicago YC	X 39 Peterson 33				
Chicago YC	Ericson 35 MKII				
St Joseph YC	Peterson 41				
Chicago YC	Farr 37				
Burnham Park YC Chicago YC	New York 36				
Chicago YC Chicago YC	Tripp 40 Santa Cruz 52				
Chicago YC	Swan 37				
Chicago YC	J105				
Chicago YC	Santa Cruz 52				
Chicago YC	Tripp 36				
The state of the s	Ericson 35 MKII Tripp 36				
	Tripp 36 J105				
Chicago YC	Sirena 38				
Columbia YC	J109				
Chicago YC	Sydney 38				
	Chicago YC Chicago YC Chicago YC Chicago YC Chicago YC Chicago YC				

2004	Spirit of Artemis	Jane Schmoll & Darcy Bielema	Belmont YC	DuFour 44		
2005	Zeitgeist	Robert & Cornelia Zerban	Kenosha YC	J109		
2006	LaTempete	Tom & Deb Weber	Midwest Open Racing Fleet	Beneteau 40.7		
2007	Thirsty Tiger	Albert G. D'Ottavio	Chicago YC	Great Lakes 70		
2008	Scout	Dorsey Ruley	Chicago YC	Sydney 41		
2009	Valor	Paul Stahlberg	Chicago YC	J109		
2010-2011 Not Awarded						
Bi-State Ovetrall Trophy (Chicago-St. Joseph-Chicago)						
2012	Mental	Paul Stahlberg	Chicago YC	ווונ		
CYC Hamilton Club Overnight Race						
2013	Rover	Ken Colbert	Chicago YC	Tartan 10		
2014	Sirocco VI	William & Viviana Fanizzo	Chicago YC	Mumm 36		
2015	Providence	Greg Miareccki	Chicago YC	Ericson 35 MK II		
2016-2017 Not Sailed						
Top CYC Boat in Goldstar Regatta						
2018	Defiance	Team Defiance Smirl	Chicago YC	Judel-Vrolijk		
2019	Defiance	Team Defiance Smirl	Chicago YC	Judel-Vrolijk		
Top CYC Boat in Tri-State-Fly-By Regatta						
2020	Rambler	Ben Wilson	Chicago YC	J99		