CLARK - DEROY TROPHY

Best Monohull Finish, Bayview & Chicago Macs

More fully titled the "Sheldon Clark – Aaron DeRoy Intercity Mackinac Trophy", this large cast bronze plaque was donated as the award for "the best corrected time per mile in the Chicago to Mackinac and Detroit to Mackinac Races.

First awarded in 1927 and only a few years thereafter, the incomplete record is an unresolved mystery. Oddly this significant trophy was not referenced in the 1962 or 1976 editions of The Permanent Trophies of Chicago Sheldon Clark was a Past Commodore at the tim instituted. Aaron DeRoy was Commodore of the

editions of The Permanent Trophies of Chicago Yacht Club. Sheldon Clark was a Past Commodore at the time the trophy was instituted. Aaron DeRoy was Commodore of the Detroit Yacht Club, a cruising sailor and power boat racer. Awarded in 1987 and again in 2000 as the prize for a Chicago-Port Huron Mac and Port Huron-Chicago Mac respectively, the trophy was returned to its originally intended use in 2006 as its history was rediscovered as the overall trophy for the two Macs. The casting is rich in design elements with iconic architectural images of the time of Chicago, Detroit and Mackinac. One should note that the Bayview Mac never began in Detroit, it would have been a difficult sail up the Saint Clair River. The Trophy Committee welcomes information confirming winners that have not been recognized.

PAST WINNERS

Year	Event	Boat	Owner	Club	Type of Yacht				
1927	CYC & BYC Macs	Siren	William L. Latimer, Leland L. Karas & Al E. Karas	Chicago YC	Q Class				
1928	CYC & BYC Macs	Patsy	Dr. Marie Ortmayer	Chicago YC	Yawl				
1929-1933 Record Not Complete									
1934	CYC & BYC Macs	Margaret F. IV	William P. Fisher						
1935-1938 Record Not Complete									
1939	CYC & BYC Macs	Gloriant	Anthony M. Hermann	Racine YC	Q Class				
1940-1950 Record Not Complete									
1951	CYC & BYC Macs	Sabre	Roman C. Brotz	Sheboygan YC	LF Hereschoff 87' M Class Ketch				
1952-1974 Record Not Complete									
1975	Port Huron-Chicago								
1976-1986 Record Not Complete									
1987	Chicago-Port Huron								
	IMS	Double Digits	T. Geisler	South Haven YC	J35				
	IOR	Moody Blue	Terry Reagan	Milwaukee YC	Nelson 45				
1988-19	1988-1999 Record Not Complete								
2000	Port Huron-Chicago								
	IMS	Nitemare	Tom Neill	Chicago YC	Great Lakes 70				
	PHRF	Glider	Richard Sterns & Lynne A. Williams	Mackinac Island YC	Cal 40				
2001-2	005 Record Not Complet	te							
2006	CYC & BYC Macs	Nitemare	Tom Neill	Chicago YC	Great Lakes 70				
2007	CYC & BYC Macs	Natalie J.	Philip D. O'Niel III	Bayview YC	TransPac 52				
2008	CYC & BYC Macs	Stripes	Bill Martin	Bayview YC	Great Lakes 70				
2009	CYC & BYC Macs	Stripes	Bill Martin	Bayview YC	Great Lakes 70				
2010	CYC & BYC Macs	Beau Geste	Karl Kwok	Royal Hong Kong YC	Farr 80				
2011	CYC & BYC Macs	Natalie J.	Philip D. O'Niel III	Bayview YC	TransPac 52				
2012	CYC & BYC Macs	Nosurprise	Dave Irish	Little Traverse YC	וווכ				
2013	CYC & BYC Macs	Stripes	Bill Martin	Bayview YC	Santa Cruz 70				
2014	CYC & BYC Macs	Evolution	Terry Kohler & Pete Reichelsdorfer	Sheboygan YC	Santa Cruz 70				

2015	Chicago-Port Huron	Норе	Dr. Michael Leland	Michigan City YC	Najad 332
2016	CYC & BYC Macs	Heartbreaker	Robert L Hughes	Macatawa Bay YC	Transpac 52
2017	Chicago-Port Huron	Arete'	Frederick M Warner IV	Port Huron YC	ORMA 60
2017	CYC & BYC Macs	Heartbreaker	Robert L Hughes	Macatawa Bay YC	Transpac 52
2018	CYC & BYC Macs	Stripes	Bill Martin	Bayview YC	Santa Cruz 70
2019	CYC & BYC Macs	Goat Rodeo	Robert Evans	Sommerset Pointe YC	J109
2021	CYC & BYC Macs	Nosurprise	Scott Sellers	Little Traverse YC	ווונ
2022	CYC & BYC Macs	Proof	Michael Fozo & Robin Kendrick	Grosse Pointe YC	J120
2023	CYC & BYC Macs	Fast Tango	Tim Prophit	Bay View YC/Strom Trysail	North American 40