CYC Foundation

CYC Foundation

CYC FoundationTeaching, challenging, empowering and preserving since 1990.

The Chicago Yacht Club Foundation brings awareness and appreciation of the nautical arts and traditions to the Chicagoland community and broadens horizons for our youth and physically disabled through nautical training and boating activities.The CYC Foundation supports venues that introduce people at many levels to nautical educational and on-the-water activities. Whether these venues are scholarships, access to sailing competitions, restoration projects or any other financial support, the CYC Foundation is dedicated to memorializing the rich history of Lake Michigan and developing maritime traditions. 

Learn more about the Foundation's numerous outreach programs. 

  • Nautical Education
    • Whether's Sisters Under Sail, which teaches teen girls leadership skills during a week on a tall ship, or our Maritime Education Program, which brings more than 1,000 students to the Club each year, the Foundation is dedicated to providing Chicago area youth the opportunities to learn and appreciate the nautical arts. Learn more

    • The CYC Foundation supports the Rickover Academy JNROTC racing team, the Neill Advanced Sailing Clinic for accomplished junior 420 sailors, and the North American Challenge Cup, one of the longest-running sailing events for disabled adults. Check out the racing events CYCF supports

    • The CYC Foundation offers support to other maritime-related charitable organizations that operating in or have a tie to the Chicagoland area, including Chicago’s Christmas Ship, Chicago’s Maritime Museum and the Judd Goldman Adaptive Sailing Program. Learn more about the civic organizations the CYCF supports.

    • You can help the CYC Foundation help others by making a tax-deductible donation to the CYC Foundation in any of the following ways. Read more.

The CYC Foundation is led by a dedicated Board of Trustees who carefully evaluates all options for the Foundation. Officers include President Walter G. Vartan, Vice President James F. Armstong, Jr., Secretary Ann Rundle and Treasurer Victor Chigas. 

Foundation trustees are Theodore P. Anderson, Carla Carstens Herr, Grant Crowley, Jan Kramer, Philip R. May, Michael Mayer, Christine Mitchell, G. Michael Sollitt and Lawrence J. Wilhelm. Our legal counsel is Bernard Wiczer. 

To view information about the member annual support program and authorization form, click here (members must log in to view).